Annual awards evening celebrates achievements of students at Stratton Upper School

Stratton Upper School awards 2015
Stratton Upper School awards 2015

More than 180 prizes were awarded to Year 11, 12 and 13 students from Stratton Upper School for achievements during the 2014-15 academic year.

The annual awards evening on Friday, November 6, celebrated the excellent work of students and also showcased their musical and theatrical talents.

Stratton Upper School awards 2015

Stratton Upper School awards 2015

A performance was given of an extract from the forthcoming school production of The Tempest, to be staged on January 28-30, while delicious refreshments were provided by catering staff and students.

Mrs Vincent, Head of Year 11 in 2014-15 said: “To see so many different Year 11 students achieve awards was a reminder of just how hard they all worked throughout last year, the effort that they put into their GCSEs and what a lovely bunch of students I had the pleasure to lead.”

Miss Phillips, Head of Sixth Form added: “It was fantastic to see all of our prize winners back this evening to formally celebrate their excellent achievements last year. Many had travelled back from university or work to attend. They are inspirational to us as teachers and our students in lower years and it was lovely to see their hard work and achievements being rewarded and celebrated.”


Achievement Award for Excellence in a single subject:

Agriculture Beth Moansmith, Art Graphics Olivia Baker, Biology Coralie Walker, Business GCSE George Thomas, Catering Rachel Anthony, Chemistry Joe Rumble, Childcare (CPLD) Laura Leefarr, Dance Jasmine Staunton, Design & Technology: Construction Luke Watson, Design & Technology: Graphics Chris Barnes, Design & Technology: Resistant Materials Sam Haywood, Drama Annie Khemton-Albone, English Sian Jones, Ethics & Philosophy Cassia Morgan, Fine Art Emma Green, French Giorgia Chatwin, Geography Jacob Stevens, German Ella Catherall, History Ewan King, ICT Peter Hessey, Mathematics Robert Davie, Media Studies Jess Palmer, Music Aimee Manning, Photography Kirsten Carter, Physical Education (Girls) Briony Whitfield, Physical Education (Boys) Charlie Roberts, Physics Briony Whitfield, Sociology Nathen Warner, Textiles Maddie Bass.

Achievement Award for Excellence in a Broad Range of Subjects:

Olivia Baker, Coralie Walker, Cassia Morgan, Emma Green, Jacob Stevens, Ella Catherall, Robert Davie, Charlie Roberts.

Achievement Award for Outstanding Effort in a single subject:

Agriculture Lauren Pattle, Art Graphics Zoe Webb, Biology Angelika Cyrulinska, Business GCSE Ryan Scott, Catering Alex Grimshaw, Chemistry Darcie Cooper, Childcare (CPLD) Lauren Neale, Dance Alice Dellar, Design & Technology: Construction Mckenzie Simons, Design & Technology: Graphics Harry Hall, Design & Technology: Resistant Materials Nathan Diemer, Drama Michael Chin, English Sophie Earl, Ethics & Philosophy Sophie Parker, Fine Art Brandon Basinski, French Chloe Oliver, Geography Sian Harris, German Rhiannon Thompson, History Jack Abreu, ICT Thomas Baker, Mathematics Ben Greenhalgh, Media Studies Erin Hall, Music Ollie Jenkinson, Photography Tamara Long, Physical Education (Girls) Emma Scott, Physical Education (Boys) Callum Skinner, Physics Josh Corder, Sociology Chelsea Austin, Textiles Megan King.

Achievement Award for Outstanding Effort in a Broad Range of Subjects:

Chris Barnes, Annie Khemton-Albone, Lauren Pattle, Rhiannon Thompson, Chelsea Austin.


Achievement Award for Excellence in a single subject:

Agricultural Science Sam Pilling, Business (BTEC) Emily Racher, Finance (Level 2) Chris Lamb, Financial Studies (Level 3 Cert) Alexander Thomson, Sport (BTEC) Connor Woodfield, Young Enterprise Emily Racher.

Achievement Award for Outstanding Effort in a single subject:

Agricultural Science Aaron Rook, Business (BTEC) Aaron Clark, Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Ellie Wright, Health & Social Care (BTEC) Sofia Titchmarsh.

Special Achievement at AS Level:

Nick Metcalfe, Alex Pittkin, Emily Richardson, Emma Lucinda Saunders, Jacob Tavener, Franki Riley, Charlotte Binks.


Achievement Award for Excellence in a single subject:

Art Graphics Abigail Mansion, Biology Andrew Catherall, Business Anna Rettie, Chemistry Abigail Mansion, Dance Kate Wilson, Design & Technology: Graphics Charlie Jackson, Drama Eloise Grist, Economics Izzy Shohet, English Language & Literature Chloe McIntosh, English Literature Alice Scott, Ethics & Philosophy Oliver Williams, Extended Project Emma Gorrell, Film Studies Jocelyn Puddephatt, Financial Studies (Diploma) Sophie Hawkes, Fine Art Lauren Barton, French Sabine Kay, Further Mathematics Alice Malcolm-McKay, Geography Alexander Thomson, Geology Katie Mansion,

German Emily Snow, Government & Politics Joel Stevenson, Health & Social Care Georgina Duddy.

Achievement Award for Excellence in a single subject:

History Amy Welch, ICT Christopher Beldam, Mathematics Georgia Humphreys, Media Studies Dominic Wallace, Music Adam Penwright, Photography Chenisse Matthews, Physical Education Will Athow, Physics Huw Jones, Psychology Georgina Duddy, Sociology Rachel Stone, Sport (BTEC) Tom Boyd, Textiles Ethan Kaiser, Travel & Tourism Kate Wilson.

Achievement Award for Excellence in a Broad Range of Subjects:

Andrew Catherall, Georgia Humphreys, Abigail Mansion, Luke Sandler.

Achievement Award for Outstanding Effort in a single subject:

Biology Amber Clark, Business Arjuna Tooray, Chemistry Emma Gorrell, Dance Sophie Beaumont, Design & Technology: Graphics Adam Moss, Drama Madeleine Palmer, Economics Chloe Handscombe, English Language and Literature Hannah Ridley, English Literature Alexander Thomson, Ethics & Philosophy Stan Keech, Film Studies Daniel Atherton, Financial Studies (Diploma) Joshua Hibbitt, Further Mathematics Ben Reed, Geography Ali Dilley, Geology Megan Sanderson, German Michaela Marshall, Government & Politics Daniel Hobbs, Health & Social Care Amy Brookes, History Izzy Shohet, ICT Georgia Garrod, Mathematics Laura Sutherland, Media Studies Ethan Curl, Physical Education Benjamin Horner, Psychology Molly Dellar, Sociology Bethany Lewis, Sport (BTEC) Jake Kendall, Travel & Tourism Jaye Larkins.

Achievement Award for Outstanding Effort in a Broad Range of Subjects:

Megan Dunkley, Huw Jones, Beatrice Rix.

Special Awards

Year 11

Head of Year: Peter Hessey, Briony Whitfield.

John Curry Award for Contributions to School Life: Joe Rumble, Giorgia Chatwin, Ewan King.

Perseverance Award: Toby Coan, Roger Feyerabend, Adam Usmani.

Year 12

Perseverance Award: Sophie Stukins, Ellie Wright.

Year 13

Helen Mason Award for the Most Improved Student in Art: Lucy Farestvedt.

Biggleswade Chronicle Award for Creative Writing Excellence: Chloe McIntosh.

Mary Thomas Award for Outstanding Contribution to History: Maisie-Jane Fry.

Student Voice & Contribution to School Award: Lucy Moyster.

Brian Farman Award for Personal Endeavour: Adam Moss.

Johnson Award for Achievement: Emily Snow.

Perseverance Award: Adrian Grinstead.

Head Student Award: Andrew Catherall, Daniel Lawson, Lara McCormack, Rachel Stone, Amy Welch, Kate Wilson.