John O'Gaunt salutes finest golfers of 2015

John O'Gaunt Golf Club members saluted their finest players of 2015 at a presentation night in the 19th hole on Friday.

Monday, 7th March 2016, 8:44 am
No Caption ABCDE PNL-160203-102030002

Nearly 100 people attended this year’s Trophy Winners 2015 presentation evening in the Burgoyne Suite.

The 2015 winners of trophies, their invited guests and members of the committee enjoyed a delightful four course meal during the presentation of trophies.

The presentation was divided into two parts with club president Richard Bushell making the first presentations followed by club captain Clive Bassindale concluding the proceedings. In total over 30 trophies were handed out.

No Caption ABCDE PNL-160203-101920002

The major trophy winners included: Golfer of the Year A Murphy, Club Juniors Girls Championship Miss M J Dennis, Club Junior Boys Championship J Slater, Club Seniors Championship J Walker, Club Championship S Armitage, Club Ladies Championship Miss A Collis.

Meanwhile there was success for some of the youngest club members over the half-term holiday.  

On Wednesday, playing on the temporary greens of Carthagena, the 18 hole competition yielded a win for Owen Williams, who scored 47 points to finish one ahead of Catherine George and his brother Bradley.  

At the same time, four new juniors played their first 8 hole competition. The clear winner was Lara Jones with 20 points, with Victoria Bolland coming second on 13.  

No Caption ABCDE PNL-160203-102001002

The players returned to the full course with standard greens on Friday. This time the 8 hole competition was won by Robert Thompson with 16 points and again Victoria was second on 13 points.  

Over 18 holes, another new member pulled off an excellent win. Lawrence Jefferys, already playing off 34, scored 50 points to win by eight from Catherine George. After just three competitions Lawrence is now down to 30 and well on his way to an adult handicap.

On Thursday, February 25 a big field competed on the Carthagena course in a 123 Waltz Competition. On a dry but chilly day, there were some excellent scores achieved, with the results as follows:-

1 Sylvia Showan, Terry Brown, Ros Kensall 77 points; 2 Julia Cottenden, Katie Ford, Sue Garrard 73 points; 3= Anita Isaacson, Jackie McGeady, Anne Marie Evelyn. and Sue Bryan, Jean Cobb, Pat Harrington 72 points.

No Caption ABCDE PNL-160203-102108002

On Saturday, February 27 the Ladies played the second round of the Mail On Sunday, a prestigious national competition. The team of Marie Bayes, Sandra Gardner, Heather Anthony, Jo Coker and Terry Brown, aided and abetted by their faithful caddies, set off in an effort to reach the third round.

It was a dry but bitterly cold day, and the opponents from Ellesborough were proving to be very tough competitors, but with true grit the team delivered the victory by 3 & 2 and progressed to the next round.

After the match the team captain Sue College admitted to the team that she had forgotten to tell us that the Ellesborough Ladies had reached the finals of this competition, which is held in Spain, on three occasions and actually winning it once!

On an unspring like day on Sunday, February 21, 25 teams of four played out this year’s Spring Texas Scramble on the Carthagena course. Although hands and feet were cold there were some very good scores recorded.

No Caption ABCDE PNL-160203-102154002

1 Simon Albone, Mark Eaton, Steven Jacobs and Jeff Waldock 54.1; 2 Euan Gill, Simon Hutchins, Neil Pinnington and Paul Sennett 54.4 on count back; 3 Wayne Buckingham, Alex Fisher, Timothy Page and Martin Whinnett 54.4.

No Caption ABCDE PNL-160203-101920002
No Caption ABCDE PNL-160203-102001002
No Caption ABCDE PNL-160203-102108002
No Caption ABCDE PNL-160203-102154002