Beadow juniors beat elements to retain Patrons Trophy

Patrons Trophy winners, from left, Conner Penning, Jamie Gibbons, Luke Charalambous
Patrons Trophy winners, from left, Conner Penning, Jamie Gibbons, Luke Charalambous

Despite the cold and wet start to the season the juniors from Beadlow Manor started well by retaining the Junior Patrons Trophy.

The new Junior Captain Luke Charalambous (hcp 4) led a three man team with Conner Penning (hcp 5) and Jamie Gibbons (hcp 6) to the scratch invitational event hosted by John O’Gaunt for teams of three.

The event is played over both courses with two from three scores counting in the morning and afternoon. Morning scores on the Cartegena of 72 and 73 (par 69) for Penning and Charalambous, and afternoon returns of 77 and 81 (par 71) for Penning and Gibbons, gave a 303 total which comfortably beat the hosts by seven shots. The other two teams (Knebworth and Gog Magog) were further back.

Beadlow Manor have also started their campaigns in three other interclub events.

Three Beadlow teams have entered the National Junior Matchplay adapted fourball event, sponsored by the Royal British Legion, and the Green team of Mike Wright (hcp 12), Sean Foster (hcp 14), Jack Munson (hcp 19) and Lewis Vereecque (hcp 22) produced a fine late surge to secure a one hole victory over Warley Park B on Saturday.

Beadlow Manor Juniors also opened their Vale League campaign (singles handicap matchplay) with a 4.5 to 1.5 victory at Abbey Hill but suffered a narrow reverse (3.5 to 2.5) away to The Buckingham on Sunday.

Breaking new ground, Beadlow Manor have also joined the Herts Golf Union based Ver League – another singles handicap matchplay league – where results are decided over home and away legs. In a closely contested tie with Moor Park draws in both legs produced a 7-7 result, with Charalambous then representing Beadlow in a sudden death playoff, only to lose out on the fourth playoff hole.

Four internal junior competitions have been played with the Easter Junior Medal seeing Munson return a nett 67, with Charalambous returning the lowest gross of 75.

Annabel Phillips (hcp 45) won the Spring Junior Trophy with an excellent 44 points with Vereecque taking the April Junior Medal with a fine nett 63, the lowest gross (81) by Annabel Pitts (hcp 4). The final contest, the April Junior Stableford was won with 37 points by Charalambous.